Press Release

BWC Announces Board of Directors, Global Advisory Council

Mon, Oct 12, 2020


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Washington, DC – October 12, 2020) – The Bretton Woods Committee, a non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to international economic cooperation and effective International Financial Institutions (IFIs), has established a new Board of Directors and global Advisory Council.
The Board of Directors includes Afsaneh Beschloss, Lorenzo Bini Smaghi, Thierry Déau, William C. Dudley, Colm Kelleher, Walter B. Kielholz, Marie-Josée Kravis, John Lipsky, William R. Rhodes, Susan Segal, and José Viñals. The Advisory Council includes 30 members representing every continent from a cross-section of industries.
“The new Board and Advisory Council comprise a diverse array of professional backgrounds, expertise, and geographies. Under this group’s leadership, I am confident the Committee will continue to successfully execute its mission and be even more aspirational in its mandate,” said Bill Dudley, Board Chair. “I want to thank Richard Debs and Jim Wolfensohn, who effectively led the Committee for decades. The Committee has benefited enormously from their experience, expertise, and passion for our mission,” Dudley said. Jim Kolbe will transition from his role as Co-Chair and join the Advisory Council.
The Board of Directors also adopted an updated organizational mission statement and scope of work to better reflect recent innovations and developments to the pre-existing international economic and financial framework. This includes the formation of the G20 Leaders’ Summit process and the institutions through which it works including the World Trade Organization, the Financial Stability Board and other multilateral institutions in addition to the International Monetary Fund and World Bank Group.
“With the new Board and Advisory Council in place, we look forward to pursuing an expanded work program,” said Executive Committee member John Lipsky. “The updated mission reflects the evolving architecture, places new actors and institutions within our purview, and enables the Committee to drive dialogue on current issues impacting international economic cooperation.”
“As Covid-19 spreads, the global economy is facing an array of challenges. Mounting debt, corruption, climate change and other issues threaten the global recovery,” said Bill Rhodes, Executive Committee member. “With new leadership and a fresh approach, the Committee is well-positioned to support the IFIs in tackling these and future challenges.”
The Committee will be hosting its International Council virtual conference from October 12-16, which will focus on rebuilding the global economy and multilateral system in the wake of Covid-19. IMF Managing Director Kristalina Georgieva and World Bank President David Malpass will headline the virtual conference.
“I am thrilled to have such a well-rounded, diverse, and experienced Board of Directors and Advisory Council at the helm,” said Executive Director Emily Slater. “I am grateful to Bill Dudley, John Lipsky and Bill Rhodes for their leadership in assembling this team and in shaping a new direction for BWC. Our Secretariat looks forward to supporting the leadership realize its ambitious vision for the future.”
About the Bretton Woods Committee
The Bretton Woods Committee is a nonpartisan network of prominent global citizens who are convinced of the critical importance of international economic cooperation and who work to foster strong, effective Bretton Woods institutions as a powerful means of promoting economic progress and global well-being.  
Media Contact
Greg Brownstein, Deputy Director,, 202-331-1616
Board of Directors

Afsaneh Beschloss CEO, Rock Creek Group
Lorenzo Bini Smaghi Chairman, Société Générale
Thierry Déau CEO, Meridiam
William C. Dudley Senior Research Scholar, Griswold Center for Economic Policy Studies, Princeton University
Colm Kelleher Senior Advisor and Former President, Morgan Stanley
Walter B. Kielholz Chairman, Swiss Re
Marie-Josée Kravis Senior Fellow and Vice Chair, Board of Trustees, Hudson Institute
John Lipsky Peter G. Peterson Distinguished Scholar, Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies
William R. Rhodes President and CEO, William R. Rhodes Global Advisors and Former Chairman and CEO, Citibank
Susan Segal President and CEO, Americas Society/Council of the Americas
José Viñals Group Chairman, Standard Chartered
Emily Slater Executive Director, Bretton Woods Committee (ex officio)
Advisory Council
Hayley Boesky, Vice Chairman Global Corporate Investment Banking, Bank of America Securities
Monica de Bolle, Senior Fellow, Peterson Institute for International Economics
Terrence J. Checki, Former EVP, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Wei Sun Christianson, CEO, China and Co-CEO, Asia Pacific, Morgan Stanley
Bob Corker, Former Senator (R-TN)
Whitney Debevoise, Senior Partner, Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
John C. Dugan, Chairman, Citi
Arminio Fraga, Founding Partner, Gavea Investimentos
Daniel Gleizer, Former Vice President, Itaú Unibanco
José Manuel González-Paramo, Chair, European Data Warehouse
Krishna Guha, Vice Chairman, Evercore ISI
Piyush Gupta, CEO, DBS Group
Andy Haldane, Chief Economist, Bank of England
Doug Irwin, John French Professor of Economics, Dartmouth College
Jim Kolbe, Senior Transatlantic Fellow, German Marshall Fund
Meg Lundsager, Public Policy Fellow, Wilson Center
Kathy Matsui, Vice Chair, Goldman Sachs Japan; Co-Head of Macro Research in Asia and Chief Japan Equity Strategist, Goldman Sachs
Stormy-Annika Mildner, Head of Department, External Economic Policy at BDI; incoming Executive Director, Aspen Institute Germany
Daniel Mminele, CEO, Absa Group
Ted Pick, Head of Institutional Securities Group, Morgan Stanley
Helen Qiao, Managing Director and Chief Economist for Greater China and Head of Asia Economics Research, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Maria Ramos, Co-Chair, UN Secretary General’s Task Force on Digital Financing of Sustainable Development Goals; Former CEO, Absa Group
Veronica Scotti, Chairperson, Public Sector Solutions, Swiss Re
Minouche Shafik, Director, London School of Economics
Aniket Shah, Head of Sustainability and ESG Research Americas, UBS and Senior Fellow, Columbia University
Michael Schetzel, Senior Vice President and Head of International Affairs, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Jean-Claude Trichet, Honorary Governor, Banque de France and Former President, ECB
David Walker, Former Chair, Barclays and Winton Capital
Clare Woodman, Head EMEA, Morgan Stanley and CEO Morgan Stanley International
Janet L. Yellen, Distinguished Fellow in Residence, Brookings
Chairs Emeriti
Richard A. Debs, Chair Emeritus, International Council, Bretton Woods Committee
James D. Wolfensohn, Co-Chair Emeritus, Bretton Woods Committee