Henry Owen Memorial Award 2016 Winners Announced


The Henry Owen Memorial Award honors Bretton Woods Committee co-founder Henry Owen, and hopes to inspire new generations of thoughtful young leaders to follow Ambassador Owen’s example as both a scholar and diplomat. This Award has been made possible thanks to the generous contributions of Bretton Woods Committee members, friends, and the Owen family.

For this year’s Henry Owen Memorial Award essay contest, graduate students were asked to consider how the Bretton Woods institutions and their respective members (U.S., European, emerging market, and/or developing countries) might embrace or enable the concepts of relevance, responsiveness, and results.

The First Place winning essay was titled, “Maintaining Relevance for the IMF in Asia: A Forward-looking Approach toward Regional Partners,” by Hong Zhang who is currently pursuing a PhD in Public Policy at George Mason University’s School of Policy, Government, and International Affairs.

To read the winning essay, please click here.

The Second Place essay was titled “Relevance, Responsiveness, Results in Post-Conflict and Disaster Recovery,” by Enrico Orr who is currently pursuing a MA in International Affairs at The Catholic University of America.

To read the second place essay, please click here.

We are grateful to Committee members John Donaldson, Mary Oakes Smith, and Ana Vasilache for evaluating the submissions.