Henry Owen Memorial Award 2018 Winners Announced

Bretton Woods Committee


The Henry Owen Memorial Award honors Bretton Woods Committee co-founder Henry Owen, and hopes to inspire new generations of thoughtful young leaders to follow Ambassador Owen’s example as both a scholar and diplomat. This Award has been made possible thanks to the generous contributions of Bretton Woods Committee members, friends, and the Owen family.

For this year’s Henry Owen Memorial Award essay contest – against the backdrop of broad-based cyclical growth, growing geopolitical and trade tensions, disruptive technologies, and a development landscape more diverse than ever – graduate students were asked to provide recommendations for how the Bretton Woods institutions can help member countries respond to these tectonic shifts with innovative trade, finance, and development policy solutions.

The First Place winning essay - Why the Bretton Woods Institutions Need to Convince the West of Their Importance - was authored by Andrew Lugg who is a Ph.D. Candidate in Government and Politics at the University of Maryland.

To read Andrew Lugg's winning essay, click here.

The Second Place winning essay - Bretton Woods 2.0: The Need for a 21st Century Upgrade - was authored by Dominic Chiu who is pursuing a MA in International Economics and International Relations at Johns Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies.

To read Dominic Chiu's second place essay, click here.

We are extremely grateful to Committee members Anil Gupta and John Donaldson for serving on this year’s essay evaluation committee.

To continue reading at Bretton Woods Committee , click here.