Henry Owen Memorial Award 2020 Winners Announced

Bretton Woods Committee  | Fri, Apr 17, 2020


The Henry Owen Memorial Award honors Bretton Woods Committee co-founder Henry Owen, and hopes to inspire new generations of thoughtful young leaders to follow Ambassador Owen’s example as both a scholar and diplomat. This Award has been made possible thanks to the generous contributions of Bretton Woods Committee members, friends, and the Owen family.

For this year’s Henry Owen Memorial Award essay contest graduate students were asked how global coordination and effective multilateral governance can push back against global fragmentation. 

The First Place winning essay - Fragmented Governance: How Multilateralism Can Be Saved - was authored by Peter Whiteneck, a M.A. candidate at American University School of International Service. Read the essay.

The Second Place winning essay – Time to Retrieve the First Heart of Multilateralism - was authored by Qiang Wu, a M.A. candidate at John Hopkins University. Read the essay.

We are extremely grateful to Committee Members John Donaldson, Susanna Cafaro, and William Jannace for serving on this year’s essay evaluation committee.

To continue reading at Bretton Woods Committee , click here.