2015 Henry Owen Memorial Award Essay Contest

Date and time

The Bretton Woods Committee invites graduate students from across the Washington DC area to submit brief essays to the Henry Owen Memorial Award Essay Contest on the topic:

How should the Bretton Woods institutions evolve – and what priorities should they pursue within the post-2015 development agenda or otherwise – in light of the emergence of new financing mechanisms and actors affecting the architecture of global development?

Essay Length: Essays should be an original work in English of no more than 750 words.
Deadline: March 20, 2015 by 5:00pm
Eligibility: Graduate-level students currently registered at accredited colleges and universities within the Washington, DC metropolitan area
Criteria: Judges will consider whether an essay:
◊ Demonstrates a command of the complexities of the topic,
◊ Presents a focused and well-reasoned analysis of the topic, and
◊ Displays forward-thinking and creativity on ways to address the topic.

The Award includes:
◊ First place winners will receive a monetary prize of US$1,000.
◊ Second place winners will receive a monetary prize of US$500.
◊ Winners may attend the Bretton Woods Committee Annual Meeting in May 2015 in Washington DC.
◊ Winning essays will be published on the Committee’s website and shared with Committee members and friends via its quarterly newsletter.

To apply, please email an essay of no more than 750 words to secretariat@brettonwoods.org by March 20, 2015 by 5:00pm.

All entries must include a cover page with author’s name, contact information, school, and expected degree information. Name, school, and contact information should not be visible on the other pages of the essay. Please number each page of essay. One submission per person. Documents must be submitted in Microsoft Word.

Entrants will receive a confirmation email within one business day of submission.

Failure to comply with application processes and requirements may result in disqualification from the contest. Students related to Bretton Woods Committee officers or staff are not eligible to win.

The Henry Owen Memorial Prize honors Bretton Woods Committee co-founder Henry Owen and hopes inspire new generations of thoughtful young leaders to follow Ambassador Owen’s example as a both scholar and diplomat. As Ambassador for Economic Summits under President Jimmy Carter, Henry Owen served organized many of the economic summits in the 1970s which came to shape modern international financial and economic institutions and was an important force behind the creation of the Trilateral Commission.

This Award has been made possible thanks to the generous contributions of many Bretton Woods Committee members and friends.

Please click here for the results of this years contest.