2020 Henry Owen Memorial Award Essay Contest

Date and time
Washington, DC

The Bretton Woods Committee invites graduate students to submit brief essays to the Henry Owen Memorial Award Essay Contest on the following topic:

Ever-increasing multipolarity in the global economic system has resulted in a broadened landscape of regional development banks and other multilateral institutions, and trade tensions between some of the world's largest economies have resulted in the fraying of global trade agreements. How can global coordination and effective multilateral governance push back against global fragmentation? 

Essay Length: Essays should be an original work in English of no more than 750 words.

Deadline: Sunday, March 15, 2020 by 11:59 p.m. ET

Eligibility: Graduate-level students currently registered at accredited colleges and universities within the Mid-Atlantic region.

The Award includes:

  • First place winners will receive a monetary prize of US$1,000.
  • Second place winners will receive a monetary prize of US$500.
  • Winners will have the opportunity to participate in the Bretton Woods Committee Annual Meeting to be held on April 15, 2020 in Washington, DC. 
  • Top essays will be published on the Committee’s website and shared with Committee members and friends via its quarterly newsletter.

To apply: Please email an essay of no more than 750 words to secretariat@brettonwoods.org by March 15, 2020, 11:59 p.m. ET. All applicants must include a cover sheet with name, contact information, school, and degree information. Name, school, and contact information should not be visible on any other pages of the essay. Number each page of essay. One submission per person.

Failure to comply with application processes and requirements may result in disqualification from the contest.

The Henry Owen Memorial Prize honors Bretton Woods Committee co-founder Henry Owen, and hopes to inspire new generations of thoughtful young leaders to follow Ambassador Owen’s example as both a scholar and diplomat. As Ambassador for Economic Summits under President Jimmy Carter, Henry Owen organized many of the economic summits in the 1970s which came to shape modern international financial and economic institutions, and he was an important force behind the creation of the Trilateral Commission.

This Award has been made possible thanks to the generous contributions of Bretton Woods Committee members, friends, and the Owen family.