Henry Owen Memorial Award Essay Contest 2022

Date and time
End date and time
Washington, D.C.

The Bretton Woods Committee invites graduate students within the United States to submit brief essays to the Henry Owen Memorial Award Essay Contest on the following topic:

The emergence of complex post-pandemic economic conditions raise questions of whether the IFIs can work together effectively to adequately address the challenges ahead. Nations confront shared problems –recovery from the COVID-19 crisis, climate risks, accelerated and unregulated use of crypto assets, sovereign debt distress, and the threat of future pandemics – that can only be addressed through coordination and cooperation. Against this backdrop, how can the IFIs work together to adapt to new realities and rise to the challenge of creating a resilient, equitable, and sustainable post-pandemic economy?

Essay Length: Essays should be an original work in English of no more than 750 words

Deadline: April 24, 2022 by 11:59 p.m. ET

Eligibility: Graduate-level students currently registered at accredited colleges and universities within the U.S.


Criteria: Judges will consider whether an essay:
◊ Demonstrates a command of the complexities of the topic
◊ Presents a focused and well-reasoned analysis of the topic
◊ Displays forward-thinking and creativity on ways to address the topic


The Award includes:
◊ First place winners will receive a monetary prize of US$1,000
◊ Second place winners will receive a monetary prize of US$500
◊ The winners will have the opportunity to attend the Bretton Woods Committee Annual Meeting, to be held in April 2022 virtually and in Washington, D.C.
◊ Top essays will be published on the Committee’s website and shared with Committee members and friends via its quarterly newsletter


To apply, please email an essay of no more than 750 words to chu@brettonwoods.org by April 24, 2022, 11:59 p.m. ET.

All entries must include a separate cover page with author’s name, contact information, school, and expected degree information. Name, school, and contact information should not be visible on the other pages of the essay. Please number each page of essay. One submission per person.

Failure to comply with application processes and requirements may result in disqualification from the contest. Students related to Bretton Woods Committee officers or staff are not eligible.


The Henry Owen Memorial Award honors Bretton Woods Committee co-founder Henry Owen, and hopes to inspire new generations of thoughtful young leaders to follow Ambassador Owen’s example as both a scholar and diplomat. As Ambassador for Economic Summits under President Jimmy Carter, Henry Owen organized many of the economic summits in the 1970s which came to shape modern international financial and economic institutions, and he was an important force behind the creation of the Trilateral Commission.

This Award has been made possible thanks to the generous contributions of Bretton Woods Committee members, friends, and the Owen family.