Henry Owen Memorial Award Essay Contest 2023

Date and time
End date and time

The Bretton Woods Committee invites graduate students at accredited colleges and universities within the U.S. to submit brief essays to the Henry Owen Memorial Award Essay Contest on the following topic: 

With the recent emergence and intensification of geopolitical tensions and significant global challenges – including trade, debt, climate action - multilateral institutions are more important than ever. However, reformed governance structures are necessary to effectively address contemporary cross-border challenges and strengthen multilateral coordination. In your opinion, what new governance models, tools and ideas are necessary to better equip the IFIs – the World Bank, regional multilateral development banks and/or the IMF - to effectively deliver development finance and better policy outcomes globally? 

Essay Length: Essays should be an original work in English of no more than 750 words

Deadline: COB March 20, 2023 

Eligibility: Graduate-level students currently registered at accredited colleges and universities within the U.S.  

Criteria: Judges will consider whether an essay: 
◊ Demonstrates a command of the complexities of the topic 
◊ Presents a focused and well-reasoned analysis of the topic 
◊ Displays forward-thinking and creativity on ways to address the topic 

The Award includes: 
◊ First place winner will receive a monetary prize of US$1,000 
◊ If the evaluation committee chooses to select a second-place winner(s), dependent on quality of submissions, each second-place winner will receive a monetary prize of US$500.  
◊ The winners will have the opportunity to attend the Bretton Woods Committee Annual Meeting, to be held in April 2023 in Washington, D.C. 
◊ Top essays will be published on the Committee’s website and shared with Committee members and friends via its quarterly newsletter 

To apply, please email an essay of no more than 750 words to [email protected] by COB March 20, 2023. 

All entries must include a separate cover page with author’s name, contact information, school, and expected degree information. Name, school, and contact information should not be visible on the other pages of the essay. Please number each page of essay. One submission per person. 

Failure to comply with application processes and requirements may result in disqualification from the contest. Students related to Bretton Woods Committee officers or staff are not eligible. 

The Henry Owen Memorial Award honors Bretton Woods Committee co-founder Henry Owen, and hopes to inspire new generations of thoughtful young leaders to follow Ambassador Owen’s example as both a scholar and diplomat. As Ambassador for Economic Summits under President Jimmy Carter, Henry Owen organized many of the economic summits in the 1970s which came to shape modern international financial and economic institutions, and he was an important force behind the creation of the Trilateral Commission. 

This Award has been made possible thanks to the generous contributions of Bretton Woods Committee members, friends, and the Owen family.