Henry Owen Memorial Award 2021 Winners Announced

Tue, Apr 6, 2021


The Henry Owen Memorial Award honors Bretton Woods Committee co-founder Henry Owen, and hopes to inspire new generations of thoughtful young leaders to follow Ambassador Owen’s example as both a scholar and diplomat. This Award has been made possible thanks to the generous contributions of Bretton Woods Committee members, friends, and the Owen family.

The Bretton Woods Committee had graduate students submit brief essays to the Henry Owen Memorial Award Essay Contest on the following topic. Amidst an unprecedented global shock, how can the Bretton Woods institutions help secure a balanced, sustainable global recovery that lifts the prospects of all? 

The First Place essay was authored by Richard Clark, a Ph.D. candidate in Political Science at Columbia University. In his essay, Richard considered how the international financial institutions can better coordinate to ensure a far-reaching global recovery. Read Richard's essay here.

The Runner-Up essay was authored by Rosarin Hataiseree, a Master of Public Administration candidate at Columbia University's School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA). She wrote about concessional lending, fiscal consolidation, debt relief, and the role of the international financial institutions. Read Rosarin's essay here.

We are extremely grateful to Committee Members John Donaldson, Luis Portes, and Bianca Taylor for serving on this year’s essay evaluation committee.